Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

August 15, 2015

Where in the World is Frank?

Filed under: IJIN,On Writing — Frank Fiore @ 10:03 AM
Tags: , , , ,

Stuck in World War Two…..

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted to my blog. Reason? Deep into writing my new novel IJIN.

Most of my time has been split in doing the research and actually writing the story. To that end, I’ve been re-watching The Winds of War and War and Remembrance TV series to study the formula of how it portrays WWII through historical and fictional characters.

Currently, I have reached the invasion and capture of Saipan by American forces. This story is long and may turn out to be as long as Wouk’s epic.

While viewing the TV series, I found the last 4 episodes of War and Remembrance to be a disappointment. It seems the TV series had lost the formula. The epic always had portions that were ‘soap oper-ish’ with love life interspersed with the history – or even contributing to it.

But the last 4 episodes dropped the formula of seeing the war through the eyes of the characters experience. When the war was shown, if was simply explained in documentary style footage without seeing it through the fictional characters experience.

I chose to write IJIN would very little soap opera feel. I wanted the war from the Japanese side to be the main focus.

At any rate, as I write this epic, I feel it will be seen as being on par with historical fiction like Wouk’s work. It’s for you to agree or not when it’s finished and for purchase.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

