Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

July 31, 2014

Write What You Know? Not Necessarily

Filed under: Frank Remarks,On Writing — Frank Fiore @ 7:57 AM

That time worn advice is given to all new authors. But I disagree.

I say write what you CAN know. That means, learn what you need to pursue a story idea.

I write in many genres. Some say authors should stick to one and be known for it. I’d rather be known as a Michael Crichton. I want to write stories that interest me no matter what the genre.

So I’ve written techno-thrillers, action/adventure, SyFy and speculative fiction. My next two books will be general fiction followed by a ‘What If ‘historical thriller. I want to give my readers a taste of many genres in hopes they would enjoy my work. A good story is a good story. Its purpose is to entertain the reader no matter what the genre.

Do you agree?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

