Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

July 31, 2014

Gaigin Name Change

Filed under: IJIN — Frank Fiore @ 7:59 AM

I’ve been thinking about the name of the book I’m writing now called Gaigin. A while back, I realized that a book by James Clavell had the same name. The title of his book was Gai-Jin.

Though nothing like Clavell’s book, I toyed with the idea of keeping the same title – without the ‘-‘ in it. I figured with such a popular author ‘s work being searched for online, my book would pop up next to his.

Free advertising.

But we must be ethical in this business and I’d rather be known for my own writing and not someone else’s – no matter how famous they might be.

So……I’m changing the name of my book to a word similar to gaigin – ijin. It means the same thing – foreigner, alien, or outcast in Japanese.

So IJIN it will be.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

