Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

April 30, 2014

Writing Without Reading

Filed under: Frank Remarks,On Writing — Frank Fiore @ 11:10 AM

As I have said before, reading other author’s works is a cardinal rule of writing. But I don’t read. I watch lots and lots of movies for my writing style, plotting and character development.

I broke that rule.

Or did I?

Before I wrote my first completed novel many years ago – too many to admit – I inhaled – yes inhaled – every 1950s Golden Age of Science and Speculative Fiction I could get my hands on.

Did reading all those books influence my writing style? And what about the classical education I received in a Jesuit high school? I think it did. Layer over that writing style and story construction, my love of watching and dissecting movies and that becomes the foundation of how I write today.

Now given, that many of the movies I watch are based on books, I receive both the benefit of the writing and the dramatization of the stories.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

