Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

November 9, 2013

How To Write A Novel: An Approach for GIAGIN

Filed under: GAIGIN,How to Write a Novel — Frank Fiore @ 11:42 AM

I was re-watching one of my favorite movies a couple of weeks ago called The Razor’s Edge based on the book of the same name by W. Somerset Maugham. I was running through my mind the first person narrative approach to both the movie and the book and it dawned on me that maybe I should try to use that technique in GAIGIN.

So I sat down, took the DRAFT wire frame of the plot that I had created and wrote the first chapter in the first person to see what it would look like.

I was amazed with the intriguing result it did to the opening of the story. Here it is. Now remember this is just an attempt at using the first person narrative and no real attempt at polishing the work.

 

Hiroshima

August 1945

As I sit in a cold dank cell in the bowls of a military prison in Hiroshima awaiting my execution, I thought about another facing death. A remarkable young boy coming of age against the backdrop of this ill-conceived war my country has waged these past nine years.

The story I’m about to tell, to the best of my memory, is my recollection of that boy, maturing amidst this war, whom I was thrown into close contact over a period of years. A war that has cost the lives of millions of my fellow countrymen. A war of national suicide and the personal suicide of hundreds of thousands of a polite and cultured people gone mad – and that young boy, now a teenager tormented by this war, has placed himself in harms way.

Out of fear, revenge, honor or personal salvation, I couldn’t say. Only that any one of these or all has placed Trace Williams, an American teenager, in the pilot seat of a Mitsubishi Zero on his way to join other young Kamikaze pilots attacking the powerful American fleet off our coast. 

How did this young American teenage boy arrive at such a strange and startling fate? Perhaps I should start at the beginning.

So what do you think? Comments are appreciated.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

