Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

October 19, 2013

How to Write a Novel – Gaigin Update

Filed under: GAIGIN,How to Write a Novel — Frank Fiore @ 10:30 AM

Character behavior drives the plot, which drives character behavior.

I”ve exhausted my attempts at developing plot so I turned to developing the characters as far as what they do in the story.  I listed all the characters that I knew at the time and made a list of the things they do – or have done to them – and experiences they have in the story.  By doing this I was able to cross match the experiences of the characters.  In the process, I was able to fill out more of the plot.

Another plus developing the characters this way was the need to add a few more people that certain characters demanded to make their experiences whole.

So now that I’ve completed the character development, I turn back to the plot. I need to now hang the character experiences and behavior on the wire frame of the plot hoping that the sequencing of their experiences matches up with the overall scenes of the plot. If I’m able to do this, then I have a story. All I need to do then is fill in the details of each scene.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

