Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

April 15, 2013

Funny Quotes About Writing

Filed under: On Writing — Frank Fiore @ 10:09 AM

Writing is serious business. But if you don’t find a laugh or two about the predicament of putting words to computer screen, then writing becomes a chore. So here are some funny quotes about writing from Change the World With Words to lighten your day.

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.

 – Douglas Adams

I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.

 – Stephen Wright

A blank piece of paper is God’s way of telling us how hard it to be God.

– Sidney Sheldon

All the words I use in my stories can be found in the dictionary – it’s just a matter of arranging them into the right sentences.

 – Somerset Maugham

Copy from one, it’s plagiarism; copy from two, it’s research.

 -Wilson Mizner

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics is like asking a lamppost how it feels about dogs.

 – Christopher Hampton

A good many young writers make the mistake of enclosing a stamped, self-addressed envelope, big enough for the manuscript to come back in. This is too much of a temptation to the editor.

-Ring Lardner

A young musician plays scales in his room and only bores his family. A beginning writer, on the other hand, sometimes has the misfortune of getting into print.

-Marguerite Yourcenar

It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent for writing, but I couldn’t give it up because by that time I was too famous.

– Robert Benchley

Being a writer is like having homework every night for the rest of your life.

-Lawrence Kasdan

Everywhere I go I’m asked if I think the university stifles writers. My opinion is that they don’t stifle enough of them.

-Flannery O’Connor

It’s a damn poor mind that can only think of one way to spell a word.

-Andrew Jackson

There are three rules for writing the novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.

 -Somerset Maugham

Your manuscript is both good and original, but the part that is good is not original, and the part that is original is not good.”

 -Samuel Johnson

Hope this brightened your day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

