Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

September 13, 2011

Writing Palette Cleansers

Filed under: Frank Remarks,On Writing — Frank Fiore @ 9:49 PM

Every once in a while a writer needs to lighten up. So, here’s some palette cleansers on writing.

I love being a writer. What I can’t stand is the paperwork – Peter De Vries

Everywhere I go I’m asked if I think the university stifles writers. My opinion is that they don’t stifle enough of them – Flannery O’Connor

Manuscript: something submitted in haste and returned at leisure – Oliver Herford

A good many young writers make the mistake of enclosing a stamped, self-addressed envelope, big enough for the manuscript to come back in. This is too much of a temptation to the editor – Ring Lardne

It’s a damn poor mind that can only think of one way to spell a word – Andrew Jackson

A good novel tells us the truth about it’s hero; but a bad novel tells us the truth about its author – Gilbert K. Chesterton

Good authors, too, who once knew better words now only use four-letter words writing prose… anything goes – Frank Sinatra

I write to escape … to escape poverty – Edgar Rice Burroughs

If you can’t annoy somebody, there’s little point in writing – Kingsley Amis

It’s a damn good story. If you have any comments, write them on the back of a check – Erle Stanley Gardner

Writing is a lonely job, unless you’re a drinker, in which case you always have a friend within reach – Emilio Estevez

When I was a little boy, they called me a liar, but now that I am grown up, they call me a writer – Isaac Bashevis Singer

The best time to plan a book is while you’re doing the dishes – Agatha Christie

After being Turned Down by numerous Publishers, he had decided to write for Posterity – George Ade

About the most originality that any writer can hope to achieve honestly is to steal with good judgment – Josh Billings

I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work; I want to achieve immortality through not dying – Woody Allen

Smile.  🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

