Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

March 22, 2010

Tying Up Loose Ends

Filed under: On Writing,SEED Novel — Frank Fiore @ 9:54 AM

Like most of the thrillers I’ve read, I love to create several plot threads running throughout my stories. The challenge of course is make them all come together in a neat little package at the end that is both surprising and entertaining to the reader.

Otherwise known as the ‘payoff’ – or ‘wrap-up’.

When I get to that point in the story – normally about 4/5ths through – I hold my breath and hope I’ve covered all the ground, all the details explained, and make the outcome believable and entertaining that completes the complex puzzle.

I just wrote the wrap-up to my second Jeremy Nash novel, SEED. I’m happy with the result and gave a breath of relief that I didn’t write myself into a corner, forcing me to rewrite major plot threads in the book – or worse.

Has anything like this happen to writers? Have you tried to connect the dots in your story and find out that you’ve written yourself into a corner? How about you readers? Did you ever find a thriller that tried to write complex plots but failed to bring them together at the end?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

