Frank Fiore – Novelist & Screenwriter

November 24, 2009

Frank Remarks #2 – The Internet Been ‘Bery, Bery Good to Me’

Filed under: On Writing — Frank Fiore @ 3:22 PM

Chico Escuela, played by Garrett Morris, was the SNL Weekend Update sports correspondent. A retired Hispanic ballplayer with limited command of the English language.  Typically he would be introduced by Jane Curtin, thus compelling him to say, “Thank you, Hane!” Soon would follow his standard catchphrase: “Beisbol been bery, bery good to me!” Sammy Sosa, at the peak of his stardom in the late 1990s, would sometimes repeat that line as a joke, to the media, albeit in his true-to-life strong Hispanic accent.

In a way, the Internet has been bery, bery good for my writing career. In fact, I can point to the Net as the prime factor of any success I have had in publishing my writings.

Let’s start from the beginning.

Back then – way back then in Internet time – there was the precursor to social networks called USENET. One of the USENET discussion groups was called misc.writing which I frequented. One day back in the 1990s I ran across a post by a new start-up publisher looking for material. I told him of an idea I had for a book. He liked it and sent me a contract.

Unfortunately, it was not published by him. They went out of business before I could complete the manuscript. So I self-published through iUniverse. That book is titled To Christopher and is for sale on both Amazon and B&N.

I continued to peruse misc.writing and found another publisher in late 1998 who was looking for someone who could write a book about the new concept of online shopping.  He sent me a brief outline, I populated it with my ideas and he gave me the contract. That book, Dr. Livingstone’s Online Shopping Safari was published by them but – it was a year or two ahead of its time.

But I was now an officially published author – advance and all.

A year or so passed and I was accepted by the Mining Company – now called About.com – to be their Online Shopping Guide. Within the first year two things came of it.

First, because a short article I wrote on shopping bots, I was hired to be the Web Producer for a start-up in Silicon Valley that was creating an intelligent Internet shopping agent – given stock options and other benefits. Second, I was contacted by Macmillan Publishing, an imprint of Pearson Publishing. Macmillan was looking for someone to write their new book An Idiots Guide to Starting an Online Business. I sent them an outline, they accepted it, and offered me a contract – with a nice advance. From there I enjoyed a six year relationship of published works with Pearson Publishing that led to other contracts with Wiley Publishing and Tech TV.

A few years ago, I decided that I was tired of writing trade books and decided to turn my attention full-time to writing fiction. Something I wanted to do for many, many years.

I soon learned that my track record as a non-fiction author meant squat when it came to getting my fiction work published. That was a whole new ball game.

But I persevered. I continued to write and find editors and story consultants on the Net who would help me refine my writing and the current novel I was working on at the time – CYBERKILL.

After many revisions and drafts, I found an excellent story polisher and editor who took CYBERKILL and turned it into a marketable property. He was also a small literary agent and we tried to market it to large publishers he knew in New York. We got some interest but no bites. So I self-published it in 2009 and used CYBERKILL to build my Author Platform while I continued to look for publishing opportunities on the Net.

Not to my surprise, the Net came through for me again.

I found a couple of small publishers in my social network looking for material and sent them CYBERKILL. One of them contacted me and said their reviewers think it would fit their needs very nicely. They asked for minor changes to the novel – which I made – and sent it back to them.

I’m very confident that I will get a contract from them this year.

The moral of the story? I would not – like many other unknown authors –have the success I have today without the Internet. So if you are an aspiring author – stick it out and persevere. The rewards will come. You have to work at it.

Yes – the Internet been ‘Bery, Bery Good to Me’.

3 Comments »

  1. Hi Frank,
    This is very encouraging and I find myself almost walking in your shoes. I just published my first novel in September of this year, a young adult adventure story. I also went through iUniverse but I’m still looking for a traditional publisher and like you, I know the internet is a great resource center. My son is a professional designer and created my website for my book: http://www.veronicadauber.com. (I thought I’d throw that in just in case you wanted to get a glimpse of my book.)
    Thanks for the encouragement.
    Ronnie

    Comment by Ronnie Dauber — November 24, 2009 @ 10:55 PM | Reply

  2. Ronnie – cool looking story. Good luck with it.

    Comment by Frank Fiore — November 25, 2009 @ 9:09 AM | Reply

  3. pupuk organik : very cool when this is the right approach needed.

    Comment by pupuk organik — July 7, 2010 @ 8:04 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

